In my position as a trainer I’m continually asked if there are any specific advantages to purchasing Microsoft Office Project 2007 or upgrading from a previous version. If your organization is looking into this software tool, please read on. This article is for you.

Out of the many features that form a compelling argument to upgrade, there are five that I think are huge:

  1. Multiple levels of undo.
  2. Change highlighting.
  3. Cost and Budget resources.
  4. Project Task Drivers.
  5. Visual Reports.

Most of these features are accessible and may be configured by the user or can be turned on or off. This first article will focus on the Undo feature.

Multiple Levels of Undo

Finally, the tool will allow more than one undo. This single feature may be worth the upgrade, particularly if you make frequent mistakes or change your mind. Thank you, Project Team!

The maximum number of undo’s that you may have is 99. This number is adjusted in the Options dialog box under the General tab:

Figure 1: Setting Undo levels.

5 Compelling Reasons to Upgrade to Project 2007: Multiple Levels of Undo

The Undo Last Command (Ctrl-Z) and Redo Last Command (Ctrl-Y) buttons give you quick access to immediate undo/redo actions (as shown in Figure 2). The dropdown arrow associated with each option allows you to undo or redo at a specific level in your list of actions (as shown in Figures 3 and 4). Alternatively, the Edit menu will also give you Undo and Redo options.

Figure 2: The Undo and Redo Last command.

5 Compelling Reasons to Upgrade to Project 2007: Multiple Levels of Undo
Figure 3: The Undo button and dropdown.

5 Compelling Reasons to Upgrade to Project 2007: Multiple Levels of Undo
Figure 4: The Redo button and dropdown.

5 Compelling Reasons to Upgrade to Project 2007: Multiple Levels of Undo
Obviously, the Undo and Redo commands are powerful, but they have some limitations. According to Help and Microsoft Product Support, there are some actions that can’t be undone. They are:

  • Opening an enterprise project.
  • Saving the project.
  • Publishing the project to Project Server.
  • Deleting an inserted subproject.
  • Changes made in the Organizer.
  • Adding resources from Project Server.
  • Inserting another project from Project Server.
  • Changing custom field properties.
  • Closing an open project that contains cross project links to another open project.
  • Closing the only open project.

In my next article I’ll look at Change Highlighting.