Create task dependencies (links) across projects

Home Forums Discussion Forum Create task dependencies (links) across projects

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author

Greetings, My name is Tony and I’m new to MPUG but not new to MP. I’ve run across a situation that I’d like to ask if anyone else has as well. The following link provides a description of how to create task dependencies across projects: https://office.microsoft.com/en-us/project-help/create-task-dependencies-links-across-projects-HA010130865.aspx When I attempt to peform this as shown, the tasks do not link. I can create a temporary project, insert the projects with the tasks to be link and do it that way, but have been scratching my head why this doesn’t work for me. I’m running MP Pro 2010 with SP1 installed. If anyone has encountered this, please comment and if you’ve been able to determine the cause of not being able to. Thanks

I’m getting the same behavior you are getting.  I can create links using a new window but cannot by entering the project and task ID into the predecessor tab of the task information dialog.  I can however enter the predecessor projectid in the Predecessor column.  It sounds like an issue with 2010.

Hi Tony,

Welcome to this Microsoft Project forum:)

I don’t have a definitive answer for you.  However, when working with multiple projects, Project is prone to such problems when the individual projects are in difernt folders.  Try moving all the files into a single folder.  If not, make sure the full path to the file is recorded for the link.  If you’re not sure, try linking again as you did in a tempory file that you know works, then examine the exact path that Priject used – copy the link and try again.

FAQs, companion products and other useful Project information can be seen at this web address:  https://project.mvps.org/faqs.htm

Hope this helps – please let us know how you get on 🙂

Mike Glen
      MS Project MVP (97-11)