Custom date formula

Home Forums Discussion Forum Custom date formula

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Custom Field Formulas

Hello I am new to ms project and I need to write several formulas that will help determine the submission timeline for several task. Each task follows the same specific timeline, only they start at different times of the year. The below is the timeline guide as well as the order in which the task are tracked.

Inaugural Construction date – ex. 7/1

DAD Submission date – 12 weeks prior to construction

PS&E Submission dat2 – 2-3 weeks after DAD submission

Project approval date – 6 weeks after DAD submission

Project obligation date – 2 weeks after project approval date

FEAW/Etc. – 4 weeks before DAD submission date.

Task ex.

Rockaway Blvd, 89th St to 102nd Rd
      – MPT Started 2/15/2017
      – FEAW/CEQR Started 3/11/2017
      – Target DAD Package Submission Date 4/8/2017
      – Actual DAD Submission Date TBD
      – Target PS&E Package Submission Date 4/29/2017
      – Actual PS&E Submission Date TBD
      – Approval Needed 5/20/2017
      – Obligation Received 6/4/2017
      – Inaugural Construction Started Date 7/1/2017

What I would like to do is to create a formula using the above timeline guide instead of inputting the dates manually. If this is possible any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
      Clint

Daryl Deffler
      Participant

Hey Clint;
      Might I suggest that rather than messing with date formulas, you explore relationship with positive or negative lag values. This might be easier as it does not require the use of custom fields and date formulas. Meaning all milestones would show their appropriate start/finish dates using the standard MS Project fields. Additionally, if milestones are used for each, they can also be displayed n the Gantt timeline view to provide a better visual presentation.