Home Forums Discussion How is Negative Slack managed ?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Deborah Ray-Sims 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #415248 Reply

    Deborah Ray-Sims

    I am using MS Project 2016. Why would MS Project show in the Detail Gantt view, late start and late finish columns, of dates “before start date” of project when, showing negative slack? What needs to be done to remove or manage negative slack from a project schedule?

    #415249 Reply
    Sai Prasad
    Sai Prasad
    Participant
    • Community Leader
    • Forum Pro

    The cause of negative slack is the early start/finish is after late start/finish. Please check the following conditions
    1. Have you set a deadline to any task, and does that task miss the deadline?
    2. Have you set a MSO, MFO, SNLT, FNLT constraint on any task?

    #415258 Reply

    Deborah Ray-Sims

    Thanks for the response. The schedule is compressed and all task are set with constraint “as soon as possible” except for a few set at “must start on” Many tasks are being delayed which has pushed go-live date out adding to missed deadlines. Why is MS Project showing for example in the following task scenario the late start column is showing a 2017 date but the actual start date of the project is in 2018

    Start Finish Late Start Late Finish Free Slack Total Slack
    Mon 3/18/19 Fri 4/19/19 Thu 12/14/17 Fri 3/29/19 0 days -15 days

    #415261 Reply
    Sai Prasad
    Sai Prasad
    Participant
    • Community Leader
    • Forum Pro

    It is quite hard to predict why does this happen and that too only for one task with late start in 2017. Can you include a screenshot of the schedule with these columns – indicator, name, deadline, constraint type, constraint date?

    #415286 Reply

    Deborah Ray-Sims

    Below is a copy a small portion of the schedule showing the 2017 dates. A screenshot or picture won’t paste here.

    Start Finish Late Start Late Finish Free slack Total Slack
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Fri 3/29/19 Fri 3/29/19 Wed 12/13/17 Wed 12/13/17 0 days -328 days Tue 2/5/19 Tue 2/5/19
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Fri 3/29/19 Fri 3/29/19 Thu 12/14/17 Thu 12/14/17 0 days -328 days Tue 2/5/19 Tue 2/5/19
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Mon 4/1/19 Fri 4/5/19 Thu 12/14/17 Wed 12/20/17 0 days -328 days Wed 2/6/19 Tue 2/12/19
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Fri 4/5/19 Fri 4/5/19 Thu 12/21/17 Thu 12/21/17 0 days -328 days Tue 2/12/19 Tue 2/12/19
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Mon 4/8/19 Fri 4/19/19 Thu 12/21/17 Wed 1/3/18 0 days -328 days Wed 2/13/19 Wed 2/27/19
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Fri 4/19/19 Fri 4/19/19 Wed 1/3/18 Wed 1/3/18 0 days -328 days Wed 2/27/19 Wed 2/27/19
    Auto Scheduled As Soon As Possible Mon 7/30/18 Mon 4/15/19 Mon 7/30/18 Tue 12/22/20 424 days 424 days Mon 7/30/18 Fri 4/12/19

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
Reply To: How is Negative Slack managed ?
Your information:




35 + = 36