Project 2010 View of Predecessors and Successors

Home Forums Discussion Forum Project 2010 View of Predecessors and Successors

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Paul Smith
      Participant

Hi All,

I am new to the MPUG Forum but hope I can get the assistance I need.  I ‘m using Project 2010 Pro (desk top) and need to see my driving predecessors and driven successors when examing a task. I am not refering to task inspect which does not provide the views on the predecessors / successors columns.  I saw asomeone else using these tools to analyze their schedule but I didn’t get an opportunity to asked them to explain how to me.  I appreciate all input.

Thanks, Paul

Ismet Kocaman

That feature (i.e., Task Path) is only available in Project 2013. See the related article here: https://office.microsoft.com/en-001/project-help/highlight-how-tasks-link-to-other-tasks-HA102891930.aspx

You can download a trial and start using Task Path feature.

Regards,

Ismet Kocaman | ikocaman.pm@gmail.com

Joseph Wharton
      Participant

Paul:

Not sure if references to specific companies are allowed on this thread, but Aztech International (at goaztech.com) has a free utility (Run!23) which is a demo of their extended offerings, and it contains a tool/button: TRACE, which will generate either all Successors pushed or all Predecessors pushing any task.  I use it every day.

Joe

Ismet Kocaman

Joe, They do not respond to registration for the free tool. — Ismet

James

Hi Paul,
      While in Gantt chart view, you can choose Details and then show the Task form at the bottom. In the task form you can choose(right click) to show predecessors and successors. As you scroll through the tasks in the Gantt chart, the corresponding predecessor and successor tasks shows up in the Task form.

Not sure if this is what you want, but it helps to review the schedule for me.

Ken VanderJagt

In Project 2010 the Task Inspector shows only the driving predecessor.

Christy Max