Some suggestions for next version of MS project

Home Forums Discussion Forum Some suggestions for next version of MS project

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Stephen Chandler
      Keymaster

All, I’m using Ms project quite often to plan IT projects. I’m not an expert in it but i know quite a lot of its capabilities. Perhaps the suggestions below are already available in the current version of MSP. If that is the case I’m glad to hear this as well. Otherwise, please comment if you think the suggestions would also be interesting for you.

1. Filler or Contingency task
      A special type of task which will automatically take all remaining work for the specified resources. Suppose you have 2 resources (Tim & Jane) assigned full time to a project for 3 months. But you can only define tasks for 4/5 of their available effort but you know that you will need them for yet undefined work (contigency). It would be nice to have the possibility to have a Filler/Contingency task that automatically takes up the remaining work for the specified resources (during the duration – start/finish – of the task)

2. Possibility to discard a task from the Critical Path
      Possibility to mark a task to not play part in the calculation of the critical path. For instance a generic taks (project management) that will last from the start till the end of the project

Stephen Chandler
      Keymaster
      Hi Koen, what’s the scenario around 1 – presumably you are using a shared resource pool (or Project Server) and want to let other’s know that this resource is allocated full time to your project for the committed time.
      Stephen Chandler
      Keymaster
      Ben, thanks for your feedback. Your suggestion only arrange the display of the task as not-critical but still the task is taken into account during the calculation of the critical path.
      Stephen Chandler
      Keymaster